3 Quick Movies Qualify for Oscars With HollyShorts Movie Competition Awards

Victor Gabriel’s “Hallelujah,” Seemab Gul’s “Mulaqat/Sandstorm” and Joseph Pierce’s “Scale” have received the highest awards on the 2022 HollyShorts Movie Competition, which offered its prizes on Saturday afternoon in Hollywood — thus qualifying for this yr’s Academy Awards.

“Hallelujah” received the Grand Prix for the pageant’s greatest quick, “Mulaqat/Sandstorm” took the honors as the very best live-action quick and “Scale” received for animation. HollyShorts is an Oscar-qualifying pageant for the short-film classes, and the winners of these three awards are routinely entered within the Oscar race.

The award to “Hallelujah” was offered through video by this yr’s Oscar winners for Greatest Dwell Motion Quick, “The Lengthy Goodbye” filmmakers Riz Ahmed and Aniel Karia. The Oscar winners for the 2018 live-action quick “Pores and skin,” Jamie Ray Newman and Man Nattiv, offered the awards to “Mulaqat/Sandstorm” and best-director winner Carlos Segundo (“Sideral”), respectively.

Different winners included Ben Proudfoot, who received this yr’s Oscar for Greatest Documentary Quick for “The Queen of Basketball,” and who took the HollyShorts prize for his new doc, “Mink!”

The 2022 HollyShorts Movie Competition befell from Aug. 11-20 in individual on the TCL Chinese language 6 Theatres in Hollywood, and just about on the streaming platform Bitfix.

Right here is the total listing of winners:

OSCAR-qualifying Grand Prix Greatest Quick : “Hallelujah,” Victor Gabriel
OSCAR-qualifying Greatest Dwell Motion: “Mulaqat/Sandstorm,” Seemab Gul
OSCAR-qualifying Greatest Animation: “Scale,” Joseph Pierce
Greatest Director: “Sideral,” Carlos Segundo
Greatest Motion: “Kickstart My Coronary heart,” Kelsey Bollig
Greatest Comedy: “All I Ever Needed,” Erin Lau
Greatest Costume Design: “Sauerdogs,” Carmen Granell
Greatest Drama: “Just like the Ones I Used to Know,” Annie St-Pierre
Greatest Documentary: “Mink!,” Ben Proudfoot
Greatest Modifying: “The Machine,” Rowan McKay
Greatest Feminine Screenplay Introduced by BeCine: “Final Ship East,” Eris Qian
Greatest Horror: “Moshari,” Nuhash Humayun
Greatest Worldwide: “The Voice Actress,” Anna J. Takayama
Latinx Award Introduced by Viacom Worldwide Studios: “Huella,” Gabriela Ortega
Greatest LGBTQIA+: “North Star,” P.J. Palmer starring Colman Domingo
Greatest Midnight Insanity: “Homesick,” Will Seefried
Greatest Music Video: “Consensual,” Jeff Hilliard and Joey Hazard
Greatest Producer: “Hallelujah,” Duran Jones
SAG Indie Winner: “My Jerome,” Adjani Salmon
Hawk Movies Screenplay Award: “Mina Finds Her Edge!,” Robin Rose Singer
Greatest Sci-Fi: “Waltz of the Angels,” Braden Barton
Script Compass Screenplay Award: “Within the Backyard Of Tulips,” Ava Lalezarzadeh
Kodak Greatest Shot on Movie: “North Pole,” Marija Apcevska
Kodak Shot on Movie Tremendous 8MM: “Deerwoods Deathtrap,” James P. Gannon
Kodak Shot on Movie Honorable Point out: “Not the 80s,” Marleen Valien
Social Influence Award: “Stranger on the Gate,” Joshua Seftel
Greatest Pupil Movie: “The Go to,” Ebele Tate
Greatest Thriller: “Wild Bitch,” Rebekka Johnson and Kate Nash
Greatest TV: “A Query of Service,” Erin Brown Thomas
Greatest TV Screenplay: “Forsyth County,” James Sasser
Greatest VFX: “Black Dragon” (“Rồng đen”)
Greatest Internet Sequence: “Kura,” Vince McMillan
Ladies in Movie Award: “Aside, Collectively,” Olivia Hold Zhou
ZEISS Presents: Hollyshorts Movie Competition Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography: “Censor of Desires,” Khalib Mohtaseb 
ZEISS Presents: HollyShorts Movie Competition Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography:  Nancy Schreiber

Oscars Live Action Shorts Nominees Use Their Films as a Platform for Social Justice (Video)

Leave a Comment